top of page
< Back

History of the Green Bay Packers

The Green Bay Packers are in the NFC North Division.

The Green Bay Packers are one of the most storied and successful franchises in the history of the National Football League (NFL). Here's a brief summary of their history:

Early Years and Foundation (1919-1920): The Green Bay Packers were founded in 1919 by Earl "Curly" Lambeau and George Calhoun in Green Bay, Wisconsin. They joined the American Professional Football Association (later renamed the NFL) in 1921. Lambeau, a former player, was the team's first head coach and played a pivotal role in its early success.

The Lambeau Era (1921-1949): Under Curly Lambeau's leadership, the Packers achieved significant success, winning their first three NFL championships in 1929, 1930, and 1931. The team was known for its dominant "Green Bay Sweep" running play and strong defense. Lambeau Field, the Packers' current home stadium, was named in his honor.

Vince Lombardi Era (1959-1967): The Packers reached new heights in the 1960s under the coaching of Vince Lombardi. They won five NFL championships in seven years, including the first two Super Bowls (Super Bowl I and II) in 1966 and 1967. Lombardi's leadership and the presence of legendary players like Bart Starr, Paul Hornung, and Ray Nitschke solidified the Packers' legacy as one of the NFL's greatest dynasties.

Post-Lombardi Years (1970s-1980s): After Lombardi left the Packers, the team went through a period of decline. However, they remained competitive and produced notable players like Brett Favre, who would later become one of the NFL's all-time great quarterbacks.

Brett Favre and the 1990s: The 1990s marked a resurgence for the Packers, thanks in large part to the arrival of Brett Favre as their starting quarterback. Favre's tenure included numerous playoff appearances and a Super Bowl victory in the 1996 season (Super Bowl XXXI).

Recent Success (2000s-Present): The Packers have remained a competitive team in the NFL throughout the 2000s and into the 2020s. Quarterback Aaron Rodgers, who succeeded Favre, has been a key figure in their success. The team has consistently made the playoffs and won another Super Bowl in the 2010 season (Super Bowl XLV).


Community Ownership: One unique aspect of the Green Bay Packers is that they are community-owned. The team is owned by the Green Bay Packers, Inc., a nonprofit corporation formed by local residents. It is the only publicly owned franchise in the NFL.

The Green Bay Packers' rich history, iconic players, and passionate fan base have made them a symbol of football excellence and a beloved institution in the NFL. Lambeau Field, where they play their home games, is often referred to as the "Frozen Tundra" and is known for its legendary atmosphere.

bottom of page