top of page
< Back

History of the Jacksonville Jaguars

The Jacksonville Jaguars are in the AFC South Division.

The Jacksonville Jaguars are a professional football team based in Jacksonville, Florida, and are a member of the National Football League (NFL). Here's a brief summary of their history:

Founding and Inaugural Season (1995): The Jacksonville Jaguars were established in 1993 as an NFL expansion team. They played their inaugural season in 1995, along with the Carolina Panthers, who were also granted an expansion franchise.

Tom Coughlin Era and Early Success (1995-2002): The Jaguars quickly found success under the leadership of head coach Tom Coughlin. They made the playoffs in four of their first five seasons and reached the AFC Championship Game twice (in the 1996 and 1999 seasons). The team's success was fueled by players like Mark Brunell, Fred Taylor, and Jimmy Smith.

Jack Del Rio and Playoff Appearances (2003-2011): The Jaguars continued to be competitive under head coach Jack Del Rio, making several playoff appearances during his tenure. They had strong defensive units and a balanced offense led by quarterback David Garrard and running back Maurice Jones-Drew.

Recent Years: In recent years, the Jaguars have undergone changes in coaching and personnel. They are in a rebuilding phase, focusing on developing young talent and building for the future.

TIAA Bank Field: The Jaguars play their home games at TIAA Bank Field in Jacksonville, known for its distinctive teal and black color scheme.

NFL International Series: The Jaguars have played a number of "home" games in London, as part of the NFL's efforts to expand its international presence.

The Jacksonville Jaguars have been a relatively young franchise in the NFL but have had moments of success, including playoff appearances and deep postseason runs. They continue to strive for future success while representing the city of Jacksonville in the NFL.

bottom of page